Two running for Clarion mayor, 6 for 3 council seats

Bridget Shileny

According to paperwork certified late last week by the Wright County Auditor, the candidates running for various local offices in the November 2 election have been received.

For Clarion’s mayor position, incumbent Duane Asbe will not be running for reelection. Two men have thrown their hat in the ring, however. Mayoral candidates will be Rodney Heiden and Shayne Hennigar.

For the three Clarion City Council seats up for grabs, current councilmembers Dan Hennigar and Larry Harrah are running for reelection, while Dave Maxheimer is not. Other candidates include Brandon Flurer, Dave Flurer, Mark Hinton and Nick McOllough.

In Dows, only current mayor Larry Klatt is running for that position. Four are running for three council seats, including Richard Echelberger, Loren Lienemann, Christina Peterson and Craig Russell.

In Goldfield, Gabe Fiscus is running unopposed for the mayoral position. Three council seats are available with three candidates filing, including Marcy Duncalf, Anthony Meinke and Marilyn Sorenson.

Rowan’s ballot will have Lennea Groom running for mayor and Dale Hollman, Marcos Hurtado, and Virgil Park for the three open council seats. In Galt, Steve Chambers is running for mayor and Zeke Rosales is the only candidate on the ballot for one of the five open council seats there.

For the Clarion-Goldfield-Dows Board of Education, Beth Severson and Megan Ring are running for reelection to their district 2 and 3 seats, respectively. Beth Jackson is not seeking reelection to her district 2 seat. Kelly Kirstein has filed to run in that district, however.

To check your voter registration status, register to vote or update your information, visit



Wright County Monitor

P.O. Box 153
107 2nd Avenue N.E.
Clarion, IA 50525
Phone: 515-532-2871
FAX: 1-800-340-0805

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit for more information.