Election results: New blood for Clarion City Council and C-G-D School Board

            There were several close races on Tuesday that hinged on a few votes at the end of the day. Here are some of the results of the contest local races:

            Clarion City Council: Incumbent Andy Young (290 votes) and challenger Shayne Hennigar (303 votes) took the two seats up for grabs. They came in over Teresa Lancaster (173 votes) and Larry Harrah (274 votes).

            C-G-D School Board, District 2: Challenger Cindy Dorn (409 votes) defeated incumbent Clint Middleton (331 votes).

             C-G-D School Board, District 1: Troy Seaba won, unchallenged. 

            Dows City Council: In a nail-biter, Margaret Ann Worden (59 votes) and Trent Claude (36 votes) took the 2 seats over Nancy Plendl (35 votes).  Larry Klatt won the mayoral race (unchallenged). 

            Goldfield City Council: Incumbents Chris Petersen (63 votes) and Tom Crees (49 votes) took the 2 seats over challenger Alex Boone (28 votes). Gabe Fiscus (mayor, unchallenged)

           Belmond city races: Frank Beminio (mayor), Ronald Allen and Jose Alfaro (city council), Sharleen Sorum (parks board), Nancy Gabrielson, Thomas Christianson, Bradley Robson (Belmond Hospital Trustees).

           Eagle Grove city races: Sandra McGrath (mayor), Al Pamperin, Gary Lalor, Mike Weland (council members).

           Other city races: Rowan- Ronnie Bailey (mayor), Lennea Groom (council member). Woolstock- Bruce Rholl (mayor), Robert Hisler, Candi Jones (council members). Galt- Steve Chambers (mayor), Shallon Weis, Jesus Hernandez Jr., John Leist, Anthony Miller, Joshua Weis (council members). 

            Public Measures: Rowan (The continuation of the Local Option Sales Tax at the rate of one percent for different city depts)- PASSED.  Eagle Grove School Distrcit Public Measure (regarding the use of money from the penny sales, services and use tax for schools received by the Eagle Grove Community School District)- PASSED. Belmond-Klemme Community School District Public Measure (eliminating school board member districts, making all seats at-large)- DID NOT PASS.

            For other area school elections see: https://www.wrightcounty.org/departments/auditor/election_results.php

Wright County Monitor

P.O. Box 153
107 2nd Avenue N.E.
Clarion, IA 50525
Phone: 515-532-2871
FAX: 1-800-340-0805
Email: cmonitor@mchsi.com

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit www.midampublishing.com for more information.